Online-Rechner für nachhaltige Verpackung

sustainable packaging
online calculator

SPOC is a tool to quantify the CO2 footprint and
energy use for packaging.
What can SPOC do ?Who is SPOC for?
Image
SPOC - Verpackungsrechner

What does SPOC stand for?

SPOC is the abbreviation for "Sustainable Packaging Online Calculator" and is a tool to quantify the CO2 footprint and energy expenditure for packaging.

It is simple and easy to use and delivers a meaningful and reproducible result in just a few minutes. SPOC thus helps to systematically develop the most sustainable packaging design.

Image

What can SPOC do?

SPOC quantifies the differences between different packaging solutions in terms of CO2 emissions and energy consumption. It is specially designed for food and non-food packaging. The calculations take into account a wide variety of material types, processing processes, transport routes and all common end-of-life variants. This allows packaging to be designed in a more sustainable way.

Image

Who is SPOC for?

SPOC is a neutral, industry- and company-independent tool that provides clear numerical values to all decision-makers developing new packaging solutions. Numerical values that enable packaging engineers, packaging material manufacturers, marketing and sales staff to discuss the sustainability of the developed packaging and optimise it if necessary.

Image

How representative is SPOC?

When calculating the CO2 footprint, SPOC takes into account the recommendations of the ILCD manual as well as the requirements of ISO 14044 and ISO 14067. The calculations are simplified by using standard values for material, process, disposal and transport data. Regular updates ensure that material data and emission factors are up-to-date.

Image

Training with SPOC?

SPOC is easy to use, so the CO2 emissions of packaging are quickly preserved. In order to properly assess the results, it is helpful to understand what is behind the calculations. Therefore, it is recommended to attend a training course. For this purpose, online seminars on the topic of "Quantifying sustainable packaging" are regularly offered.

Sustainable
food packaging

Sustainable
food
packaging

The online packaging calculator SPOC is specially designed for the calculation of food packaging and clearly shows the environmental benefits achieved through recyclability and the use of bio-based materials. For non-food packaging, SPOC can be used to determine the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions when using recycled materials.

Image

The Developers

The online packaging calculator SPOC was developed at the Packaging Chair of the Munich University of Applied Sciences under the direction of Prof. Dr. Dirk Burth and Prof. Dr. Sven Sängerlaub with the aim of supporting a systematic approach to the development of sustainable packaging.

Prof. Dr. Dirk Burth
Prof. Dr. Dirk BurthProfessor of Packaging Technology
Prof. Dr. Dirk Burth has been studying packaging technology at the Munich University of Applied Sciences since 2002. He has been researching and teaching in the field of packaging sustainability for many years. His other areas of interest are film composites, paper coatings, plastics processing, adhesives, UV and ESH curing.
Prof. Dr. Sven Sängerlaub
Prof. Dr. Sven SängerlaubProfessor of Packaging Technology
Prof. Dr. Sven Sängerlaub started his scientific career at the Fraunhofer Institute for Process Engineering and Packaging IVV in Freising. Since 2019 he has been teaching and researching at the Munich University of Applied Sciences. His expertise covers the areas of sustainable, active and intelligent packaging, biopolymers, barrier of polymers and plastics processing.

Companies that already work with SPOC

SPOC is a tool for all those who work along the process chain "packaging",
to systematically develop the packaging sustainably.

Huhtamaki (Ronsberg)

Huhtamaki Ronsberg, together with its sites in Tortona (Italy) and Prague (Czech Republic), forms the Flexible Packaging Europe division and is one of Europe's largest manufacturers of flexible packaging. Whether for the food, beverage or pet food industry, the sensitive pharmaceutical sector or the non-food sector: Huhtamaki develops sustainable packaging solutions.

Munich University of Applied Sciences

The packaging industry is in a state of upheaval. It doesn't work without packaging. It protects, secures content and guarantees quality. By 2030, as many packaging as possible should be environmentally friendly, recyclable and therefore sustainable. Therefore, the Department of Packaging Technology at the Munich University of Applied Sciences deals with the development of sustainable packaging.

What is SPOC?

SPOC is a tool for everyone,
who are responsible for packaging design such as packaging engineers, packing fabric manufacturers, marketing and sales staff.

The CO2 emissions determined with SPOC are only for internal use or for exchange between partners in the process chain who are familiar with SPOC.

The goal of SPOC?

The primary goal of SPOC is that users can independently and independently quickly determine the CO2 footprint and energy expenditure for the production of planned or already used packaging.

sustainable packaging online calculator

Online-Rechner für
nachhaltige Verpackung

SPOC ist ein Werkzeug, um den CO2-Fußabdruck und
Energieaufwand für Verpackungen zu quantifizieren.
Was kann SPOC ?Für wen ist SPOC?
Image
SPOC - Verpackungsrechner

Wofür steht SPOC?

SPOC ist die Abkürzung für "Sustainable Packaging Online Calculator" und ist ein Werkzeug, um den CO2-Fußabdruck und Energieaufwand für Verpackungen zu quantifizieren.

Er ist einfach und leicht bedienbar und liefert in nur wenigen Minuten ein aussagekräftiges und reproduzierbares Ergebnis. SPOC hilft damit, systematisch bei der Entwicklung der nachhaltigsten Verpackungsauslegung vorzugehen.

Image

Was kann SPOC?

SPOC quantifiziert die Unterschiede von verschiedenen Verpackungslösungen hinsichtlich der CO2-Emission und des Energieverbrauchs. Er ist speziell für Lebensmittel- und Non-Food-Verpackungen ausgelegt. Bei den Berechnungen werden verschiedenste Materialarten, Verarbeitungsprozesse, Transportwege sowie alle üblichen End-of-Life Varianten berücksichtigt. Damit können Verpackungen fokusiert nachhaltiger ausgelegt werden.

Image

Für wen ist SPOC?

SPOC ist ein neutrales, branchen- und firmenunabhängiges Werkzeug, das allen Entscheidern, die neue Verpackungslösungen entwickeln, klare Zahlenwerte liefert. Zahlenwerte, die es ermöglichen, dass Verpackungsingenieure, Packstoffhersteller, Marketing- und Vertriebsmitarbeiter über die Nachhaltigkeit der entwickelten Verpackung diskutieren und diese, wenn nötig, optimieren können.

Image

Wie repräsentativ ist SPOC?

SPOC berücksichtigt bei den Berechnungen des CO2-Fußabdrucks die Empfehlungen des ILCD Handbuchs sowie die Vorgaben von ISO 14044 und ISO 14067. Die Berechnungen sind vereinfacht durch Einsatz von Standardwerten bei den Material-, Prozess-, Entsorgungs- und Transportdaten. Regelmäßige Updates sichern die Aktualität der Materialdaten und Emissionsfaktoren.

Image

Fortbildung mit SPOC?

SPOC ist einfach zu bedienen, so dass die CO2-Emissionen von Verpackungen schnell erhalten werden. Um die Ergebnisse richtig zu beurteilen, ist es hilfreich zu verstehen, was hinter den Kalkulationen steckt. Daher wird empfohlen, eine Fortbildung zu besuchen. Dafür werden regelmäßig Online-Seminare zum Thema „Nachhaltige Verpackungen quantifizieren“ angeboten.

Nachhaltige
Lebensmittelverpackungen

Nachhaltige
Lebensmittel-
verpackungen

Der Online-Verpackungsrechner SPOC ist speziell für die Berechnung von Lebensmittelverpackungen ausgelegt und zeigt den Umweltnutzen, der durch Recyclierbarkeit und den Einsatz von biobasierten Materialien erzielt wird, klar auf. Für Non-Food Verpackungen lässt sich mit SPOC die Reduktion der Klimagasemission bei Einsatz von recyclierten Materialien bestimmen.

Image

Die Entwickler

Der Online-Verpackungsrechner SPOC wurde am Verpackungslehrstuhl der Hochschule München unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Dirk Burth und Prof. Dr. Sven Sängerlaub mit dem Ziel entwickelt, ein systematisches Vorgehen bei der Entwicklung von nachhaltigen Verpackungen zu unterstützen.

Prof. Dr. Dirk Burth
Prof. Dr. Dirk BurthProfessor für Verpackungstechnik
Prof. Dr. Dirk Burth ist seit 2002 an der Hochschule München im Studiengang Verpackungstechnik. Er forscht und lehrt schon seit vielen Jahren auf dem Gebiet der Nachhaltigkeit von Verpackungen. Seine weiteren Interessensgebiete sind Folienverbunde, Papierbeschichtungen, Kunststoffverarbeitung, Klebstoffe, UV- und ESH-Aushärtung.
Prof. Dr. Sven Sängerlaub
Prof. Dr. Sven SängerlaubProfessor für Verpackungstechnik
Prof. Dr. Sven Sängerlaub startete seine wissenschaftliche Laufbahn am Fraunhofer Institut für Verfahrenstechnik und Verpackung IVV in Freising. Seit 2019 lehrt und forscht er an der Hochschule München. Seine Expertise umfasst die Gebiete nachhaltige, aktive und intelligente Verpackungen, Biopolymere, Barriere von Polymeren und Kunststoffverarbeitung.

Firmen – die bereits mit SPOC arbeiten

SPOC ist ein Werkzeug für alle, die entlang der Prozesskette "Verpackung" arbeiten,
um die Verpackung systematisch nachhaltig weiterzuentwickeln.

Huhtamaki (Ronsberg)

Huhtamaki Ronsberg bildet zusammen mit den Standorten Tortona (Italien) und Prag (Tschechische Republik) den Bereich Flexible Packaging Europe und zählt zu den europaweit größten Herstellern von flexiblen Verpackungen. Ob für die Lebensmittel-, Getränke- oder Tiernahrungsindustrie, den sensiblen Pharma-Bereich oder den Non-food-Sektor: Huhtamaki entwickelt nachhaltige Verpackungslösungen.

Hochschule München

Die Verpackungsindustrie ist im Auf- und Umbruch. Ohne Verpackungen geht es nicht. Sie schützt, sichert Inhalte und garantiert die Qualität. Bis 2030 sollen möglichst alle Verpackungen umweltgerecht, recycelbar und damit nachhaltig sein. Daher beschäftigt sich der Studienbereich Verpackungstechnik der Hochschule München mit der Entwicklung nachhaltiger Verpackungen.

Was ist SPOC?

SPOC ist ein Werkzeug für alle,
die verantwortlich sind für die Verpackungsauslegung wie Verpackungsingenieure, Pack-
stoffhersteller, Marketing- und Vertriebsmitarbeiter.

Die mit SPOC bestimmten CO2-Emissionen sind nur für den internen Gebrauch oder für den Austausch zwischen Partnern in der Prozessskette, die mit SPOC vertraut sind.

Das Ziel von SPOC?

Das primäre Ziel von SPOC ist, dass Anwender selbständig und unabhängig schnell den CO2-Fußabdruck und Energieaufwand für die Herstellung von geplanten oder bereits verwendeten Verpackungen bestimmen können.